Section Menu

29 November 2011

After many great nominations were submitted, the number of industrial electrical apprentices was reduced to just three finalists, each of whom, through a series of presentations and practical tasks, looked to claim the prestigious title of the NHP/NECA Industrial Apprentice of the Year for 2011.

After a detailed selection process that included an initial nomination and state finals series, the nation’s three best young industrial electrical apprentices were selected and further invited to attend the National Final on November 10, with NHP's National Manufacturing and Distribution Facility in Laverton, Melbourne forming the perfect backdrop for the final of this acclaimed Industry Award.

The three finalists vying for this coveted award were Tim Langdale from Tasmania, Graeme Mitchell from Victoria and Kurt Donovan from New South Wales, with the judges for the day including NECA’s judging veterans Graeme Morse and Brian Seymour as well as NHP judges David Maxwell and Tony Licastro. As usual, the standard of the final was outstanding and each of the three apprentices represented themselves and their employers with great distinction.

The highlight this year was the diversity of projects each applicant carried out. The maturity and skills shown justified why these applicants were the best of the best in 2011, and to prove that, they all `nailed’ the practical exercise that involved the assembling, wiring and commissioning of an automatic transfer switch without any faults... a top effort!”, said NHP judge Tony Licastro.

Following this thorough and extensive finals process, the NECA National Industrial Apprentice of the Year 2011 award winners were recently announced at a special ceremony in the Docklands precinct of Melbourne on November 23, with the placing as follows:

1st: Kurt Donovan (Downer EDI Engineering Power)
2nd: Graeme Mitchell (370 Degrees Group)
3rd: Timothy Langdale (Tastec Group Training)

When I was announced the winner I was so shocked, but extremely proud,” said winner Kurt Donovan. “The whole award process is something I will never forget and the skills I have gained and opportunities made available to me exceeded my expectations. I would like to thank NECA and the judging panel for their involvement in the award and NHP for spending time with all of the apprentices and making the judging process relevant to our unique industry.”

Furthermore, the winners of the 2011 NHP/NECA National Electrotechnology Secondary School Student Awards were also announced on this night with the Awards for Innovation taken out by:

1st: Samuel Fielding (Solar Powered House Numbering System)
2nd: Daniel Swida (Remote Controlled Rocket Launcher)

NHP were also proud sponsors of the NECA Awards for Industry Commitment, with the 2011 awards being presented to:

1st: Michael Townsend – Dubbo College (NSW)
2nd: Kenrick Everett – Charlton Christian College (NSW)

As the major sponsor, NHP takes great pleasure in their involvement in these Awards and will continue to work with NECA in their quest to ensure the future life-blood of our industry are offered the pathways to ensure a successful future.

Get In Touch With Nhp

Please fill in the enquiry form and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

If your enquiry is of an urgent nature, please call our hotline on:

AUS - 1300 NHP NHP (1300 647 647)
NZ - 0800 NHP NHP (0800 647 647)

Thank You

Your details have been submitted. We will get back to you as soon as possible.

Check out some of our latest videos below: